Tennis partner

charles_moeller

There’s this girl I’ve been playing tennis with for over 2 months now and she’s awesome, we get along so well and flirt a lot.

For a while I chose not to escalate because I was dealing with a recent break up (that she knew about) but this week I decided to ask her out. She said she liked me and thought we had a connection but felt she’d be a rebound given how short I was single for. She text me later saying she valued our friendship and cared for me.

I didn’t know how to react because we liked eachother and then I didn’t expect she’d want to be friends.

I think some foolish sense of pride/insecurity overcame me and I wrote back saying “I value her too and think she’s a great girl. However it’s hard for me because I’m sexually attracted and feel like I’d have to pretend to be friends which I don’t think I can do. The door is open if you change your mind”

she just wrote back “I understand” which made me feel **** because basically I’ve given her an ultimatum saying date me or take the high road which is stupid. Relationships are equal...

i text her back saying “on my part that’s a **** way to frame it given how awesome you’ve been the whole time. I enjoy our time together and ignore the previous message”

do you think I’ve blown it with her?

im expecting she’s turned off now and I should just move on

I think you owe a more detailed apology to her. Not just "o sorry for what I just said", but as to why you said it and how you realized it was an incorrect thing to do. Also, only time will really tell. Try to remain her friend and keep the lines of communication open. If you guys leave it at what was last said yea it will be awkward and you guys will probably never hit it back off. Good luck and hope things turn out in your favor.