First Job

I worked as a waitress in a restaurant near my home (in the middle of nowhere). The restaurant was part of a motel, coin laundry, and gas station with two pool tables in the back. It was kind of like "one stop shopping" and the only place for these amenities for 25 miles.

My best mate to this very day got me a job a factory where we would work for $5 an hour for two hours every night after school ($50 per week). Half of our pay would go into the lunch room where we drank cans of coke and ate Kit-Kats. On the school holiday's I'd work full-time and make good money for my age at the time.

My best mate to this very day got me a job a factory where we would work for $5 an hour for two hours every night after school ($50 per week). Half of our pay would go into the lunch room where we drank cans of coke and ate Kit-Kats. On the school holiday's I'd work full-time and make good money for my age at the time.

I was paid $1.75 an hour, cash, plus tips. I think they paid me cash not to help me but to help themselves. They were working me very long hours (sometimes more than 40 a week) and were in violation of all sorts of labor laws. I was only 15 at the time. Had that job for 2 years.

I was paid $1.75 an hour, cash, plus tips. I think they paid me cash not to help me but to help themselves. They were working me very long hours (sometimes more than 40 a week) and were in violation of all sorts of labor laws. I was only 15 at the time. Had that job for 2 years.

Yep, we were in 9th grade, so 14yo at the time...I look back on this time with fond memories, cos we would mess around more than we worked, and loved to pig out on junk food in the lunch room as soon as we got there...